#### **Ballina Bridge Congress 40<sup>th</sup> Anniversary**

We welcome you all to Ballina Bridge Congress 2016. Our special welcome to Mr. Pat Duff, National President CBAI, and to Mr. Colm Gallagher, Regional President CBAI.

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate our congress founders, especially the late Mr Anthony Kilcullen, the late Mr. John Lowry and also the late Mrs Rita de Vere Durcan. Mr. Aidan Cleary was first Congress President and Mr. Joe Moran was on the original committee, becoming President in 1984. Mrs Betty Gormley, President in 1978 and in 1997, who has served on the congress committee since its inception, we thank for her continued support over the years.

A special word of thanks to all our past Presidents, Hon Secretaries, Hon Treasurers and Master Point Secretaries, and to Ballina Bridge Club members for their commitment over the years.

We very much appreciate the hard work of our Congress Secretary/Entries Secretary, Mr Vincent McMahon and our Treasurer/MP Secretary Mrs Mary Gilvarry.

We are grateful to all our sponsors for their valued support and also our Tournament Directors who ensure the smooth running of the Congress.

A special word of thanks to Róisín and the staff at Hotel Ballina for their professionalism and help at all times.

Last but not least to our hard working committee - thank you.

Finally we wish everyone a very happy and successful weekend here in Ballina and we look forward to meeting you all again in 2017.

Richard White, Congress President

# **SPONSORS**

Ballina Beverages/Coca-Cola http://coca-cola.ie

Cahill Trautt & Co. Accountants 096-22104 http://www.cahilltrautt.com/

Connollys Audi Ballina 096-79000 http://www.connollys.ie/

Hollister ULC, Ballina <a href="https://www.hollister.com/">https://www.hollister.com/</a>

HOTEL BALLINA 096-23600 http://hotelballina.ie/

Mayo County Council 094-9024444 http://www.mayococo.ie/en/

McGowan's Funeral Directors 096-70669 http://www.ballinafuneralhome.ie/

Melvin Financial Services 096-70244 http://www.melvinfinancialservices.com/

Pat Kelly Autopoint 096-22033 <a href="http://ballina.patkellyautopoint.com/">http://ballina.patkellyautopoint.com/</a>

The Merry Monk Bar and Restaurant 096-73990 http://tinyurl.com/gv6yocr

Topline Archers 096-72777 http://www.toplinearchers.ie/

# 40<sup>th</sup> BALLINA BRIDGE CONGRESS

ballinabridgecongress.com



# VENUE: HOTEL BALLINA

http://hotelballina.ie/

FOXFORD RD., BALLINA, CO. MAYO TEL: 096-23600

FRIDAY JULY 8<sup>th</sup> 2016 SATURDAY JULY 9<sup>th</sup> 2016 SUNDAY JULY 10<sup>th</sup> 2016

#### **BALLINA BRIDGE CONGRESS 2016**

#### **Patrons:**

The President of the CBAI: Mr. Pat Duff President of North West Region: Mr. Colm Gallagher

#### **Congress Officials:**

President: Mr. Richard White Vice President: Mr. Huey Daly

Hon. Secretary: Mr. Vincent McMahon Hon. Treasurer: Mrs Mary Gilvarry Master Points Sec. Mrs Mary Gilvarry

Entries Secretary: Mr. Vincent McMahon, 29 The Moorings, Ballina, Co. Mayo. Tel: 096-72290 and 087-2263257

Email: webmaster@ballinabridgecongress.com

#### **Committee:**

Mr. John Mulkearns, Ms. Gussie McEvilly, Ms. Helena Moran, Mrs Mary O'Dowd, Mrs Úna Doyle, Mr. Gerard Moran, Mrs Betty Gormley, Mr. Carthage Cusack and Mr. Gerry Scanlon

#### **Tournament Directors**

Fearghal O'Boyle, Mairéad Basquille, Huey Daly, John and Breeda Mulkearns

#### **General Information**

Ballina Bridge Congress is affiliated to the Contract Bridge Association of Ireland, <u>cbai.ie</u>

## **Entry Fees**

Mixed Pairs: €10 per player Congress Pairs: €20 per player Intermediate Pairs: €20 per player

Teams: €20 per player Open Pairs: €10 per player Gala Open Pairs: €10 per player

Tournament for Novices: €10 per player

Presentation of prizes immediately after play

#### <u>CONGRESS PROGRAMME</u>

# Friday, July 8<sup>th</sup>

7.30 p.m. Official Opening 7.45 p.m. Mixed Pairs Championship

One session, Kane Competition *Holders: Fiona Browne and Hugh McGann* 

Prizes: 1<sup>st</sup>: €250 2<sup>nd</sup> €200 3<sup>rd</sup> €150 4<sup>th</sup> €100

Best Pair from North Western Region: €50

Best Intermediate Pair: €50

#### 7.45 p.m. Gala Open Pairs

## Saturday, July 9<sup>th</sup>

11.30 Bridge workshop with Thomas MacCormac

# 2.00 p.m. Congress Pairs Championship, Two Sessions

John Lowry Competition

Holders: Fiona Browne and Hugh McGann

Prizes: 1<sup>st</sup> €500 2<sup>nd</sup> €400 3<sup>rd</sup> €300 4<sup>th</sup> €200

Best Pair from North Western Region: €100

Best Area Master: €100

1<sup>st</sup> Session: €100. Second Session: €100

# 2.00 p.m. Bridge Tournament for Novices, subject to a minimum number of entries. Entry fee: €10. Winners 2015: Mary Lynskey and Philip Moore

#### 2.00 p.m. Congress Intermediate A & B Pairs

Two Sessions.

Holders: Kate Daultrey and Kazimierz Noga

Prizes:

1<sup>st</sup>: €400; 2<sup>nd</sup>: €300; 3<sup>rd</sup>: €200; 4<sup>th</sup>: €150 Best Pair from North Western Region: €100 Best Intermediate B Pair: €100 1<sup>st</sup> Session: €100; 2<sup>nd</sup> Session: €100

2.00. p.m.: Open Pairs

Prizes:

1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Prizes Howell; 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> Prizes Mitchell

7.30 p.m. Open Pairs

Prizes:

1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Prizes Howell; 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> Prizes Mitchell

\_\_\_\_\_

# Sunday July 10<sup>th</sup>

## 11.00 a.m. Congress Teams Championship, two Sessions.

Holders: Bernie Lodewijks, Jereon Lodewijks, Richard Elvin and Justin Corfield

Prizes: 1<sup>st:</sup> €500 2<sup>nd</sup>: €400 3<sup>rd</sup>: €300

# 11.00 a.m. Intermediate Teams Championship, two sessions (Subject to minimum entry of ten teams)

Holder: John and Hilary McCrohan with Tom and Margaret Ginty

Prizes: 1<sup>st:</sup> €400 2<sup>nd</sup>: €300 3<sup>rd</sup>: €200

11.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m. Open Pairs

Prizes

1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Prizes Howell; 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup>, Prizes Mitchell

Congress 2017: July 7<sup>th</sup>- 9<sup>th</sup> Venue: Hotel Ballina